Saturday 28 May was the date for this year’s Master of Orthopaedic Surgery (MCh Orth) objective structured clinical examinations (OSCE). Nine MCh (Orth) orthopaedic surgeons attended 10 manned examination stations for a ten-minute period each where they were examined by specialists in the field of orthopaedics and biomechanics on a variety of topics taught throughout the year via lectures, workshops and seminars.

Photographic Element

The OSCE Examiners. Left to Right: Mr Arpit Jariwala, Mr Manhal Nasif, Mr Peter Briggs, Mr Colin Bruce, Professor Rami Abboud, Mr Neil Valentine, Mr David Nicoll, Mr William Hadden, Mr Amar Jain and Mr Sankar Sripada.

Students had previously given an eight-minute oral presentation on their research on the Friday prior to having their Viva examinations conducted by an expert panel including External Examiner, Mr Peter Briggs, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon at Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne, Drs Tim Drew and Weijie Wang as Internal Examiners, and Professor Rami Abboud as Convenor.

This OSCE has been run entirely in-house each year now for over a decade at the TORT Centre on the last Saturday of May. Teaching faculty, NHS Tayside colleagues, academics and support staff all freely give up part of their weekends to ensure that the students are examined in a familiar environment allowing students to feel relaxed which in turn allows them to perform at the peak of their abilities on what is after all a stressful and vitally important occasion for them all” stated Professor Rami Abboud, MCh (Orth) Course Director and Head of the Department of Orthopaedic & Trauma Surgery. “I am always indebted to the examiners who freely give their time ahead of some important personal engagements and with one, Colin Bruce, making a round journey of 600 miles from Liverpool to Dundee in support of the MCh (Orth) course; I can never repay my colleagues for their invaluable ongoing support”.

Photographic Elements

Photographic Elements

MCh (Orth) candidates giving their pre-Viva oral presentations chaired by Professor Rami Abboud.