TORT Summer graduation 2017: a special event

A total of 26 students, of 7 different nationalities, studying 7 different courses at the TORT Centre, School of Medicine, graduated on Friday 23 June 2017.

Graduation is an extra special day not only for the graduates and their families and friends but also for the staff who do so much to help students during their stay at the University of Dundee. It is always extremely rewarding to see our students successfully completing their respective degrees and graduating at the Graduation Ceremony in Dundee’s splendid Caird Hall.

This year was a particularly special graduation ceremony for all at the TORT Centre as Professor Rami Abboud was one of only three recipients of the Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching by the University of Dundee. This award is presented to individuals in recognition of their outstanding contribution to teaching and is the University of Dundee’s most prestigious award.

Photographic Elements

Front row Left to Right: Chancellor Lord Patel of Dunkeld, Professor Sir Pete Downes (Principal and Vice-Chancellor), Christina Roberts (Deputy Lord Provost), Professor Tim Newman (Vice-Principal - Research, Knowledge Exchange and Wider Impact), Professor Nic Beech (Vice-Principal - Academic Planning and Performance), Ms. Wendy Alexander (Vice-Principal - International), Honorary Graduate Mr David Cunningham (Chief Executive of The ARCHIE Foundation), Professor Rami Abboud (Associate Dean for Learning & Teaching - School of Medicine), Indre Urbanaviciute (DUSA President), Dr Jim McGeorge (University Secretary).

Not only would we like to extend our congratulations to our graduates but also to the thousands of University of Dundee students who felt the tap of the Dundee bonnet over the course of the week! The traditional Dundee bonnet is used each year by the Chancellor, Lord Patel of Dunkeld, to symbolically confer degrees upon graduates.

Photographic Elements

Master of Orthopaedic Surgery (MCh Orth) graduates attending the ceremony, and with Professor Rami Abboud, MCh (Orth) Course Director.

The City of Dundee was in a celebratory mood with ecstatic students, proud parents, happy friends and proud academics and staff either attending the post-ceremony Garden Parties on Campus or family meals and get-togethers after the ceremony.

I would like to congratulate each and every one of our Graduates. You should all feel justifiably proud of what you have achieved in gaining your degrees”, stated Professor Rami Abboud.

You are now our ambassadors and on behalf of everybody at the TORT Centre, I wish you every success in your onwards and upwards life journey. Please keep us informed of your future successes and do try to visit when you can. You are now valued members of our extended TORT family”.

Photographic Elements

Left: Chancellor Lord Patel of Dunked presenting Professor Rami Abboud with the Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching; Right: Professor Abboud with his son, Rami, and wife, Dorin at the garden party.

On a personal note, when receiving the Chancellor’s Award, I was once again transported back in time to the day I first graduated from the University of Dundee in 1989. I again felt the excitement, nervousness and the pride one feels for being awarded a prestigious prize. Just seeing the delight on the faces of loved ones is a priceless memory. I am so proud of each and every student’s achievements this year. It was great to see them and their family members celebrating amongst the pomp and ceremony of the day. It breathed new life into an already vibrant City”, added Professor Abboud.

Photographic Elements

Left: Erin Frizzell and Alex Christmas joint winners of this year’s Sir James Mackenzie Prize; Centre: Intercalated BMSc students from TORT awaiting the call; Right: Professor Abboud with Um-May Sumya who graduated with a Master of Science in Orthopaedic & Rehabilitation Technology.


A full list of TORT graduates is listed below.

Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery and Master of Science by Research

Master of Orthopaedic Surgery (MCh Orth)

  • Pritam Agrawal (in absentia)
  • Farhan Alam (in absentia)
  • Mir Z Ali (in absentia)
  • Sangram Belagodu Sundresh
  • Keerthikar R Kudumula (in absentia)
  • Shahid Latheef
  • Naveen G Malu (in absentia)
  • Nabeel S Mohammed
  • Potsangbam L Singh
  • Koteshwara Veeragandham

Bachelor of Medical Science in Applied Orthopaedic Technology

  • David W Allen, with First Class Honours
  • Calum Forsyth
  • Erin R Frizzell, with First Class Honours (joint winner of Sir James Mckenzie Prize)
  • Thomas P McConkey
  • Terry E Melaugh, with First Class Honours
  • Yat W Smart, with First Class Honours (in absentia)
  • Claire Waugh, with First Class Honours

Postgraduate Diploma in Orthopaedic & Rehabilitation Technology

  • Hilary E Finlay (in absentia)
  • Stephen Grech (in absentia)

Master of Science in Motion Analysis

  • Argyro Kotsifaki

Master of Science in Orthopaedic & Rehabilitation Technology

  • Tajudeen O Abdulazeez (in absentia)
  • Um-May Sumya
  • Lin Wang

Master of Philosophy with Specialism in Orthopaedic & Rehabilitation Technology

  • Saleh R Alkalbani (in absentia) - the first ever graduate from this course