MCh (Orth) 2020 Success

Given that the official letter from the University of Dundee award for the MCh (Orth) Dundee was sent to our students on Friday 26th June, we can therefore formally state with great pride that it has been a 100% success rate this year for MCh (Orth) despite the unprecedented challenges thrown at all of us this year.

This is the first time in the history of MCh (Orth) Dundee that we have decided not to award the prestigious ‘Ian Smillie Prize’ for the best overall student, but instead, we have decided to dedicate it to ‘All those affected by the COVID 19 pandemic’ which includes all our students, everybody at UDOTS, our families and friends and the millions across the world who were, are and will be affected by the pandemic in many different ways.

Although it has been a difficult year for all of us in UDOTS with all the changes and with COVID 19 pandemic hitting us hard and unprepared for over the last few months, yet Team UDOTS has taken every challenge in its stride with great spirit, tackled it and emerged a stronger and closer team.

I must add that it has been an unforgettable start to my first innings as the Director of UDOTS and MCh (Orth) Course Director but with the unconditional support from Team UDOTS, the School of Medicine, University of Dundee and our Alumni we have managed to forge successfully through the unparalleled crisis.

I'd like to thank each student for their understanding during the last few months and wish them future success with their careers. Please do stay in touch and visit whenever you can. Hopefully we will see you in India once travel returns to some normality. You are now members of our MCh (Orth) valued alumni. Congratulations!

Mr Arpit Jariwala

MS Orth, MCh Orth Dundee, MRCSEd, FRCSEd T&O, MD
Consultant Upper Limb and Trauma Surgeon-NHS Tayside
Director-University Department of Orthopaedics & Trauma Surgery (UDOTS)
Director-MCh Orthopaedics Course, University of Dundee, Scotland

1st in the UK for Medicine, Complete University Guide 2021

Photographic Element

MCh (Orth) Class of 2019-2020. Back L to R: Dr Tarun Desai, Dr Vivekanada Bhemichetty, Dr Krunal Soni, Dr Mathunram Chidambaranathan, Dr Ganesh Murugesan Thangham, Dr Ashwin Sankar, Dr Amogh Zawar, Dr Sidhant Goyal; Front L to R: Dr Firas Bakri, Mr Arpit Jariwala, Dr Rajendra Bhandari, Dr Vincent Stephen.